Wednesday, February 27, 2013

Brandon Schott - You Take My Breath Away

You Take My Breath Away, the new single by Brandon Schott, is out now.

Brandon says: "It was 5 years ago to the day on Feb 26th that I found out I was cancer free, it's a big anniversary for me and my family.
'You Take My Breath Away' dates back a few years. I wrote it and recorded it for my Grandmother Judy's wedding to an amazing man named John Anderson on the beach in Sarasota, Florida in the summer of 2009. Unfortunately, a couple years later he was diagnosed with stage three lung cancer and passed in August 2012. The day he died, I was working on background vocals for another song. I just kind of redirected the emotion as the day went on, and at the end of the session I excised only those parts recorded that day and arranged a new accapella piece called 'Now', which is the closer for this set."

Proceeds from the sale of this single will be turned around to The Benjamin Center in Santa Monica, CA - a branch of the Cancer Support Community.

Parks - Modern Fiction

The second single "Modern Fiction" for the forthcoming record of Parks is out now:

Saturday, February 9, 2013

+ + + News Feburary 2013 (David Bowie, Tribute To Lite Rock, Darwin Deez, Ron Sexsmith, She & Him) + + +

Drink A Toast To Innocence: A Tribute To Lite Rock 

Drink A Toast To Innocence is a new compilation including artists like Bleu, Mike Viola, Brandon Schott or Cliff Hillis. It's all about classic Lite Rock hits of the late '70s and early '80s, reinterpreted by today's best power pop and indie pop artists. The project is created by Andrew Curry, who started a kickstarter campaign just some days ago. 

In his own words: "As a kid in the late '70s, I used to call these songs and others like them "Putt-Putt music," because I vividly remember hearing them blaring from the sound system at the miniature golf course where I spent my summers. Years later, while chatting with buddies in my college dorm room, I realized that I wasn't alone in my (secret) fondness for these songs. It was those college friends and I who ran with the idea of "Monsters of Lite Rock" and endlessly debated which songs and bands could really lay claim to the Lite Rock brand. (Manilow? No way, dude.) 
And now, more than twenty years later, I'm still talking about this stuff, and I've taken things one step further. I've enlisted dozens of my favorite current musicians to reimagine and reinterpret the Lite Rock songs that defined my childhood. Mike Viola, Bleu, Linus of Hollywood, Kyle Vincent, and almost two dozen more amazing artists from the world of indie pop and power pop have submitted some absolutely brilliant reinterpretations of these old favorites. (Check out Michael Carpenter's excellent new version of the old Cliff Richard classic, "We Don't Talk Anymore," at the link below for a taste of what you can expect.)

Pledge for the digital, CD and vinyl version of the record and many more goodies at


David Bowie - The Next Day

On January 8, 2013 David Bowie announced a new record: The album The Next Day is Bowie's 30th studio album and his first new album in 10 years.

"The Next Day" track list:
01. The Next Day
02. Dirty Boys
03. The Stars (Are Out Tonight)
04. Love Is Lost
05. Where Are We Now?
06. Valentine’s Day
07. If You Can See Me
08. I'd Rather Be High
09. Boss of Me
10. Dancing Out In Space
11. How Does the Grass Grow?
12. (You Will) Set the World On Fire
13. You Feel So Lonely You Could Die
14. Heat
15. So She (Bonus)
16. Plan (Bonus)
17. I'll Take You There (Bonus)
18. God Bless The Girl (Japan only)

Release: March 11, 2013

Darwin Deez - Songs for Imaginative People

You don't know Darwin Deez? You should:

Deez's second record Songs for Imaginative People is out now!
Available as digital, CD, signed CD, deluxe CD/DVD Book edition and purple vinyl):

Official Website:

Ron Sexsmith - Forever Endeavor

Forever Endeavour is Ron's 13th studio album, and it's out now. There's not much to say: it's a Ron Sexsmith record and, yes, it's as good as expected.

Track list:
  1. Nowhere To Go
  2. Nowhere Is
  3. If Only Avenue
  4. Snake Road
  5. Blind Eye
  6. Lost In Thought
  7. Sneak Out The Back Door
  8. Back Of My Hand
  9. Deepens With Time
  10. Me Myself and Wine
  11. She Does My HeartGood
  12. The Morning Light
  13. Life After A Broken Heart (Bonus Track)
  14. Autumn Light (Bonus Track)


She & Him - Volume 3

The album Volume 3 includes 14 songs – 11 Deschanel originals and three covers. 

Track list:
  1. I’ve Got Your Number, Son
  2. Never Wanted Your Love
  3. Baby
  4. I Could’ve Been Your Girl
  5. Turn to White
  6. Somebody Sweet to Talk To
  7. Something’s Haunting You
  8. Together
  9. Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me
  10. Snow Queen
  11. Sunday Girl
  12. London
  13. Shadow of Love
  14. Reprise (I Could’ve Been Your Girl)
Available May 7, 2013