Sunday, April 3, 2022


It's not an ordinary occurrence when you write your first song as a group - and you get a Grammy nomination. That's what happened to säje


For their gripping "Desert Song" this nomination well-deserved. 

säje is Sara Gazarek, Amanda Taylor, Johnaye Kendrick and Erin Bentlage. 

 Listen to two of their songs and an extraordinary Björk cover here:


Jack Conte from Pomplamoose and the co-founder & CEO of Patreon made a great short documentation about the band: 


Official website: 

You can support them on Patreon, preorder their debut album (out in spring 2022, you can also buy it signed by the band) or buy merchandise.

Friday, March 25, 2022

Spoon - Lucifer on the Sofa (most likely my album of the year)

Over the years Spoon and their music was always interesting to me, but I never found my way to their work. I liked a lot of their single output - and was a BIG fan of "The Book I Write" (from the Stranger Than Fiction OST).

With their latest record "Lucifer On The Sofa" this changed. The album is a absolutely MIND-BLOWING!

It is one of the few records I can put on repeat. Again and again.
Every song stands on his own. From the heavy "Held" to the captivating "Astral Jacket", from the enormously catchy "Wild" the the nonchalant "My Babe" - it's impossible to find a favorite here.

Do yourself a favor and listen to the whole damn album!

Nataly Dawn - Gardenview (Follow the Light & Over The Moon)

Nataly Dawn may be mostly known for her part of Pomplamoose, but she also has a longtime solo career. Her solo music is quite different than the Pomplamoose work!

Her new album "Gardenview" will be out in June 2022, but you can listen to two of the songs already: "Follow the Light" & "Over The Moon".

Fortunately - The Lickerish Quartet (and EP3)

The Lickerish Quartet is back with their third EP on May 20, 2022 (released on British indie label Lojinx).
And in my humble opinion, their first single ("Fortunately") is their best song to date!

Ex-Jellyfish members Roger Joseph Manning Jr. (Beck, Air, Cheap Trick, Imperial Drag), Tim Smith (Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds, The Finn Brothers, Sheryl Crow, Umajets) and Eric Dover (Imperial Drag, Slash’s Snakepit, Alice Cooper, Sextus) - are proud to announce the release of their third child, Threesome Vol.3

Sunday, February 6, 2022

Pugwash - Album # 8 - Crowdfunding @ Indiegogo

 Pugwash is back in the studio - and album number 8 is on the way! Please support it via crowdfunding:


Friday, January 28, 2022

Tears For Fears - The Tipping Point


Tears For Fears are back! 

16 (sixteen!) long years after their stellar last record "Everybody Loves A Happy Ending" the new album will be out in February 2022 - it's called "The Tippping Point".

Mike Campbell & The Dirty Knobs - Wicked Mind

The second album of Mike Campbell & The Dirty Knobs ("External Combustion") is out March 4th, 2022.

David Bowie - Conversation Piece (from "Toy")

Conversation Piece may be one of my favourite David Bowie songs. After 20 years it was finally officially released. "Toy" is out now!

EELS - Good Night On Earth (new album: EXTREME WITCHCRAFT)


The new album "EXTREME WITCHCRAFT" is out NOW!

Wednesday, December 15, 2021

The Essential Records of 2021

The year comes to an end and it's time again to look back to my personal essiential records of the year 2021:

dodie - Build A Problem

dodie (yes, no capitals) is a British singer-songwriter, YouTuber and author. And a phenomenon.

With almost two million followers on YouTube and one million on Twitter she already released three EPs - and in 2021 she was ready for her first full length record: "Build A Problem". Listen to Cool Girl and Rainbow here:
I'd recommend to buy the record at the official store. You can get the CD, a deluxe edition (double CD), vinyl, cassette (!) and other merchandise: 


Bleu - Six Tape

Eight long years after the last record of Bleu the new album "Six Tape" finally surfaced in 2021!

I’m over ‘figuring out who I am’” says Bleu. “I like a mish-mosh of music, just like most people do, and when I’m writing songs for myself, I’m only focused on what will put a sh*t eating grin on my face and not really worrying about the rest.

01 I Wanna Write You a Symphony
02 A Crazy Life!
03 Baby By Your Side
04 Kid Someday
05 Love You So
06 Never Believe It
07 Chasin' (featuring Lindsey Ray)
08 Snakes
09 My Emo GF
10 Mercy Girl

Bonus songs (Bandcamp exclusive)
11 Nobody Calls It Rock'n'Roll Anymore
13 The Animator (featuring Rob Cantor of Tally Hall)
14 Wife Me
15 Alive and Well

Look out for Six Tape at Bandcamp (there are 5 exclusive bonus songs).You can gat the digital album, the bonus songs, tickets for a online release party, an handcrafted VHS with the complete album and surprise video content and even a SiX TAPE Canvas 3D Collage made by Bleu.


José González - Local Valley

You always can depend on José González. "Local Valley" is a gem.


Aimee Mann - Queens of the Summer Hotel

Aimee Mann shows us with "Queens Of The Summer Hotel" once more her perfect and appealing  songwriting. 



Del Amitri - Fatal Mistakes

Del Amitri left us waiting for 19 (!) years - in 2021 they were back with "Fatal Mistakes". And it's as if they had never been away.

Buy Fatal Mistakes here (signed CDs, vinyl, Outtake CD, T-Shirt):


Crowded House - Dreamers Are Waiting

None other than Crowded House returned in 2021 with a new album, their first in eleven long years.


Steven Wilson - The Future Bites

For years I have always avoided Steven Wilson - and I really don't know why.
It was a revealation when I immersed into his huge catalogue. And this year "The Future Bites" surfaced. If you still don't know him, this may be a good start.