Friday, February 22, 2019

José González

Years ago I saw "The Secret Life of Walter Mitty" in cinema. I loved it (and I still do!).
A good part of its magic came from the music that Ben Stiller included. I started to look into the soundtrack and found the name José González.

José González is a singer-songwriter from Sweden. Besides his solo career he was part of some bands and projects, in particular Junip and Zero 7.

2003 Veneer
2007 In Our Nature
2007 Zero 7 - The Garden
2010 Junip - Fields
2013 Junip - Junip
2013 The Secret Life of Walter Mitty OST
2015 Vestiges & Claws
2019 José González & The String Theory - Live in Europe
If you want to listen to him, I'd recommend to start with "Vestiges & Claws" (2015) or "Live in Europe" (2019).

José González + The String Theory - Full Concert - Royal Festival Hall, London (2017)

Yola - Faraway Look [Official Video]

Wednesday, February 13, 2019

The Boys With The Perpetual Nervousness - Dead Calm

The Boys With The Perpetual Nervousness or TBWTPN are Andrew Taylor (Dropkick) and Gonzalo Marcos (El Palacio de Linares).

Their debut album Dead Calm was recorded in first takes in a couple of evenings between Madrid and Edinburgh. No computers or rehearsing were involved.

When you listen to the two songs that have been already released both have a touch of an instant classic.

Buy it at Bandcamp: TBWTPN (digital or LP)